Guillaume Leroux, Alexis Perron and Julien Vaillancourt

Owners of the Val Caudalies vineyard

To witness the birth of the Val Caudalies vineyard, you need to step back more than 20 years. Guillaume and Julien had been working for several years in restoration and on vineyards in Quebec. Their good friend Alexis, for his part, worked in the wine distribution industry. Barely 25 years old, the three men decided to combine their expertise, to our delight. Well equipped, ambitious, they set off in pursuit of their dreams …

 

From tidy lifes to winegrowers: the decisive moment

In 2004, the trio bought 45 hectares of land in Dunham, on the Wine Route. One year later, more than 20,000 vines were in the ground and the Val Caudalies estate officially saw the light of day. The latter includes a small orchard of 1,500 apple trees, the perfect playground for making ciders and passing time while waiting for the first harvest. These apple-based drinks would pave the way for a very diverse range of wines and vermouths.

Vidal one day, vidal always

The three men also share a strong passion for the vidal grape variety, which they unhesitatingly make their specialty. Their cuvée of white Vidal wine quickly became their flagship product. Guillaume explains:

« We fell in love with this variety, from the vine to the winemaking. We wanted to break into the restaurant industry with a fresh, aromatic white wine, very much from home, and we acquired our notoriety with this one. »

Making Quebec vermouth shine internationally

In collaboration with the Montreal cocktail bar, Le Lab, Val Caudalies produced the first Quebec vermouth, which in 2016 won the first Food Innovation prize. The success story of the bottle brings together a base a white wine bas and a very specific recipe from maceration of herbs, spices and roots, to name only these herbs.

In 2020, the vineyard won the gold medal for its Lab Val Caudalies sweet vermouth and the silver medal for the Lab Val Caudalies dry vermouth at the prestigious San Francisco World Spirit Competition; an accomplishment that is to be proud of.

« Each vermouth has its signature and it’s always interesting to compete against the big names in the industry. What we have created is completely different and unique. People have to taste it to find out. And once done, they come back for sure! “, Exclaims Guillaume.

A vineyard that has a storefront

In 2007, the Val Caudalies vineyard timidly opened a shop on Principale Street in Dunham. Today, their address is a must on the Wine Route and welcomes more than 40,000 visitors each year. It must be said that the estate attracts crowds not only for its wine products, but also for the beauty of the place.

The exceptional panorama offers a view from the top of the valley over the Appalachians, combining vineyards, orchards, meadows and forests in a breathtaking setting. It is no coincidence that the three partners have opened up several kilometers of hiking trails to the public on their property. Visitors in search of beauty also have picnic areas at their disposal and can celebrate their milestones there by renting one of the many terraces on site.

Val Caudalies

Award-winning vermouths conquer the SAQ

With international honors in hand, the next challenge for the vineyard is to double the presence of its vermouths in SAQ branches, currently offered in 125 points of sale. The trio give themselves two years. Guillaume specifies:

« In our boutique in the vineyard, visitors taste, love and buy, but the competition is necessarily fiercer on the shelves of SAQ branches. We have to look for our vermouths with Quebec spirits, or even with other vermouths in the world. It is a constant challenge to create visibility and increase the accessibility of our vermouths. »

One thing is certain, the promotion of local purchasing and the great pride in local products are being felt more and more. The Quebec wine industry offers high quality products and business is good, both at the vineyard boutique and in the network of grocery stores, specialized grocery stores and SAQ branches.

Portrait of a Val Caudalies vermouth in a few sips

The star of the day: Lab Val Caudalies sweet vermouth!

Made from premium wine, it is described as fresh and complex :

« The harmony of its wide aromatic palette lies in the subtle balance of the elements present combined with the liveliness of the wine. Its juicy fruity sweetness with notes of orange zest and lemon is supported by the floral side of chamomile, followed by sweet spices and a long, invigorating and fresh finish from the fine bitterness of the wormwood plant. »

It is served alone, over ice. It is also an ideal base for making your best cocktails. Health!

Did you know that…?

« Val Caudalies » means « marriage between terroir and tasting »? The word « Val » refers to the geography of the estate, which overlooks a valley. “Caudalies” is a tasting term which defines the quality and the persistence of the aromas in the mouth.

 Persistence and quality representing the adventure of the Val Caudalies vineyard !

Discover Val Caudalies products

Guillaume Leroux, Alexis Perron et Julien Vaillancourt

Propriétaires du vignoble Val Caudalies

Pour être témoin de la naissance du vignoble Val Caudalies, il faut faire un bond de plus de 20 ans en arrière. Guillaume et Julien travaillent depuis quelques années en restauration et sur des vignobles du Québec. Leur bon ami Alexis, de son côté, œuvre dans le milieu de la distribution de vins. À peine âgés de 25 ans, les trois hommes décident d’unir leurs expertises, pour notre plus grand plaisir. Bien outillés, ambitieux, ils se lancent à la poursuite de leurs rêves…

 

De vie rangée à vignerons : le moment décisif

En 2004, le trio fait l’achat d’une terre de 45 hectares à Dunham, sur la Route des vins. Une année plus tard, plus de 20 000 vignes sont en terre et le domaine Val Caudalies voit officiellement le jour. Ce dernier comprend un petit verger de 1500 pommiers, le terrain de jeu parfait pour élaborer des cidres et passer le temps en attendant les premières vendanges. Ces boissons à base de pommes allaient ouvrir la voie à une gamme très variée de vins et de vermouths.

Vidal un jour, vidal toujours

Les trois hommes partagent aussi une vive passion pour le cépage vidal, dont ils font sans hésitation leur spécialité. Leur cuvée de vin blanc Vidal devient rapidement leur produit phare. Guillaume explique :

« Nous sommes tombés amoureux de cette variété, de la vigne à la vinification. Nous voulions percer le milieu de la restauration avec un vin blanc frais, aromatique, bien de chez nous, et nous avons acquis notre notoriété avec celui-ci. »

Faire briller le vermouth québécois à l’international

En collaboration avec le comptoir à cocktails montréalais le Lab, Val Caudalies élabore le premier vermouth québécois, qui remporte en 2016 le premier prix Innovation en alimentation. La bouteille, qui enchaîne les succès, réunit une base de vin blanc et une recette bien particulière de macération d’herbes, d’épices et de racines, pour ne nommer que ces aromates.

En 2020, le vignoble remporte la médaille d’or pour son vermouth Lab Val Caudalies doux et la médaille d’argent pour le vermouth Lab Val Caudalies sec au prestigieux San Francisco World Spirit Competition; un accomplissement qui a de quoi rendre fier.

« Chaque vermouth a sa signature et c’est toujours intéressant de se mesurer aux grands noms de l’industrie. Nous, ce qu’on a créé, c’est complètement différent et unique. Il faut que les gens goûtent pour le découvrir. Et une fois fait, ils y reviennent à coup sûr! », s’exclame Guillaume.

Un vignoble qui a pignon sur rue

En 2007, le vignoble Val Caudalies ouvre timidement boutique sur la rue Principale à Dunham. Aujourd’hui, leur adresse est un incontournable de la Route des vins et accueille plus de 40 000 visiteurs chaque année. Il faut dire que le domaine attire les foules non seulement pour ses produits viticoles, mais également pour la beauté des lieux.

Le panorama exceptionnel offre une vue du sommet de la vallée sur les Appalaches, mariant vignes, verger, prairie et forêt dans un décor à couper le souffle. Ce n’est pas un hasard si les trois associés ont ouvert au public plusieurs kilomètres de sentiers de randonnée sur leur propriété. Les visiteurs en quête de beauté ont également à leur disposition des aires de pique-nique aménagées et peuvent y célébrer leurs événements marquants en louant l’une des nombreuses terrasses sur place.

Des vermouths primés à la conquête de la SAQ

Avec les honneurs internationaux en poche, le vignoble s’est lancé comme prochain défi de doubler la présence de ses vermouths dans les succursales de la SAQ, présentement offerts dans 125 points de vente. Le trio se donne deux ans. Guillaume précise :

« Dans notre boutique au vignoble, les visiteurs dégustent, aiment et achètent, mais la compétition est nécessairement plus féroce sur les tablettes des succursales SAQ. Il faut chercher nos vermouths avec les spiritueux québécois, ou même avec les autres vermouths du monde. C’est un défi constant de créer de la visibilité et d’augmenter l’accessibilité de nos vermouths. »

Chose certaine, la promotion de l’achat local et la grande fierté que suscitent les produits d’ici se font ressentir de plus en plus. L’industrie viticole québécoise propose des produits de grande qualité et les affaires sont bonnes, tant à la boutique du vignoble que dans le réseau des épiceries, des épiceries spécialisées et des succursales de la SAQ.

Portrait d’un vermouth Val Caudalies en quelques gorgées

La vedette du jour : le vermouth Lab Val Caudalies doux!

Élaboré à partir de vin de première qualité, on le décrit comme frais et complexe :

« L’harmonie de sa large palette aromatique réside dans l’équilibre subtil des éléments en présence mariés à la vivacité du vin. Sa juteuse sucrosité fruitée aux notes de zeste d’orange et de citron est soutenue par le côté floral de la camomille, suivi des épices douces et d’une longue finale tonique et fraîche provenant de l’amertume fine de la plante absinthe. »

On le sert seul, sur glace. C’est aussi une base idéale pour réaliser vos meilleurs cocktails. Santé!

Saviez-vous que…?

« Val Caudalies » signifie « mariage entre terroir et dégustation »? Le mot « Val » fait référence à la géographie du domaine, qui est en surplomb d’une vallée. « Caudalies » est un terme de dégustation qui définit la qualité et la persistance des arômes en bouche.

 Persistance et qualité  représentant  bien l’aventure du vignoble Val Caudalies !

Découvrez les produits Val Caudalies