Isle of Bacchus: a bottle in the sea

The Quebec wine world is full of beautiful stories and that of Carole Primeau and Steve Boyer, owners since 2017 of the Isle de Bacchus vineyard, located on Île d’Orléans, is one of them.

Fifteen years ago, the couple of entrepreneurs and wine lovers, who then lived in Montérégie, decided to come and spend their holidays on Île d’Orléans with their two boys.

“We came to harvest on the Isle of Bacchus and we fell in love with this little corner of paradise!” remembers Carole as she takes in her small estate, rich in history.

The owner at the time had then shared with the couple his need for succession and upon their return home Carole and Steve had sent him a letter in which they expressed their interest in taking over the reins of the business.

“We had no response to our letter at the time! But several years later, the owner found our bottle overboard just when he was ready to pass the torch. We decided to board the boat!” says Carol.

A vineyard with a soul

Created in 1982 in Saint-Pierre-de-l’île-d’Orléans, Isle de Bacchus is the oldest vineyard on Île d’Orléans, but also the third oldest vineyard in Quebec, which makes it one of the pioneers in the history of viticulture here.

The vineyard takes its name from the old name given to Île d’Orléans by Jacques Cartier in 1535. He named it Isle de Bacchus because of the abundance of wild vines that he found there at the time.

Today, the site is home to a 300-year-old house, an old barn that serves as a shop and a new terrace area that welcomes visitors by offering them personalized tastings, beautiful cheese and charcuterie boards, and above all a breathtaking view. on the river, the Côte-de-Beaupré and the Ile bridge.

“We made additions to improve the customer experience, while keeping the charm of yesteryear. It is a unique place with more than 312 years of history. We have given ourselves the mission of preserving this heritage while bringing a personal and more modern touch,” shares Carole.

The vineyard now operates 11 hectares of vines that take advantage of the microclimate of the island and the bay of Beauport, and transforms grape varieties adapted to the climate of Quebec such as vidal, geisenheim, vandal-cliche, eona , Acadie, Marquette and Frontenac Noir.

Vignoble Isle de Bacchus

Sappropriate the place and learn the tradetier

In 2017, even though their dream of becoming winemakers came true, Carole and Steve had to learn everything about wine making. They were able to count on the lessons of the few employees who remained after the transaction. Gradually, the couple added their little grain of salt to the existing product line.

“We added a sparkling wine, made using the traditional method, Le Brut de Bacchus, because we like to drink bubbles,” explains Steve. We also reintegrated Le Boisé, a red wine that hadn’t been made since 2012 and that customers were asking for more.”

The couple can count on the help of their two sons, now aged 15 and 18, to help them develop the vineyard for which the whole family has great plans.

“We just planted 6,500 new vines. We acquired new land on the island, says Steve. The children work in the vineyard and they are interested in taking over. The oldest is even thinking of developing an eau-de-vie to enhance our grape marc. We are not done introducing people to Quebec wines!”

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE VINEYARD

Share this article

Catégories

Derniers articles

Aspiring grape picker's guide
Protecting your vines from the Quebec winter: the short story

Isle de Bacchus : une bouteille à la mer

Le monde viticole québécois regorge de belles histoires et celle de Carole Primeau et Steve Boyer, propriétaires depuis 2017 du vignoble Isle de Bacchus, situé sur l’île d’Orléans, est l’une d’elles.

Il y a 15 ans, le couple d’entrepreneurs et amateurs de vin, qui vivait alors en Montérégie, avait décidé de venir passer ses vacances à l’Île d’Orléans avec leurs deux garçons.

«On était venus faire les vendanges à l’Isle de Bacchus et on est tombé en amour avec ce petit coin de paradis!» se souvient Carole en embrassant du regard son petit domaine, riche en histoire.

Le propriétaire de l’époque avait alors partagé au couple son besoin de relève et dès leur retour à la maison Carole et Steve lui avaient adressé une lettre dans laquelle ils manifestaient leur intérêt à reprendre les rênes de l’entreprise.

«On n’avait pas eu de réponse à notre lettre à l’époque! Mais plusieurs années plus tard, le propriétaire a retrouvé notre bouteille à la mer au moment où il était prêt à passer le flambeau. On a décidé d’embarquer dans le bateau!» raconte Carole.

Un vignoble avec une âme

Créé en 1982 à Saint-Pierre-de-l’île-d’Orléans, Isle de Bacchus est le plus vieux vignoble de l’Île d’Orléans, mais également le troisième plus vieux vignoble du Québec, ce qui en fait un des pionniers de l’histoire de la viticulture d’ici.

 Le vignoble tire son nom de l’ancienne appellation donnée à l’île d’Orléans par Jacques Cartier, en 1535. Il la baptisa Isle de Bacchus en raison de l’abondance des vignes sauvages qu’il y découvrit à l’époque.

Aujourd’hui, le site abrite une maison tricentenaire, une ancienne grange qui fait office de boutique et un nouvel espace-terrasse qui accueille les visiteurs en leur offrant des dégustations personnalisées, de belles planches de fromages et de charcuteries, et surtout une vue imprenable sur le fleuve, la Côte-de-Beaupré et le pont de l’Ile.

«On a fait des ajouts pour améliorer l’expérience client, tout en gardant le charme d’antan. C’est un lieu unique avec plus de 312 ans d’histoire. On s’est donné la mission de conserver ce patrimoine tout en amenant une touche personnelle et plus moderne», partage Carole.

Le vignoble exploite aujourd’hui 11 hectares de vignes qui profitent du microclimat de l’île et de la baie de Beauport, et transforme des cépages adaptés au climat du Québec tels que le vidal, le geisenheim, le vandal-cliche, l’eona, l’acadie, le marquette et le frontenac noir.

Vignoble Isle de Bacchus

Sapproprier les lieux et apprendre le métier

En 2017, même si leur rêve de devenir vignerons se réalisait, Carole et Steve ont dû tout apprendre sur la fabrication du vin. Ils ont pu compter sur les enseignements des quelques employés qui sont restés après la transaction. Petit à petit, le couple a ajouté son petit grain de sel à la gamme de produits existante.

«On a ajouté un vin mousseux, fait en méthode traditionnelle, Le Brut de Bacchus, car on aime boire des bulles, explique Steve. On a aussi réintégré Le Boisé, un vin rouge qui ne se faisait plus depuis 2012 et que les clients nous redemandaient.»

Le couple peut compter sur l’aide de ses deux fils, aujourd’hui âgés de 15 et 18, pour l’aider dans le développement du vignoble pour lequel toute la famille a de beaux projets.

«On vient de planter 6500 nouvelles vignes. On a acquis de nouvelles terres sur l’île, raconte Steve. Les enfants travaillent au vignoble et ils sont intéressés à en prendre la relève. Le plus vieux pense même à développer une eau-de-vie pour valoriser notre marc de raisin. On n’a pas fini de faire découvrir aux gens les vins du Québec!»

EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR LE VIGNOBLE

Partager cet article

Catégories

Derniers articles

Guide de l’aspirant vendangeur
Protéger ses vignes de l’hiver québécois : la petite histoire