Stéphane Lamarre, winemaker

Château de Cartes vineyard

Winemaker in the Dunham Valley, in the Eastern Townships, Stéphane Lamarre is the owner of the Château de Cartes vineyard.

At the start of his career, he definitely had no idea that one day he was going to live from the vine and wine! He first started out as a television journalist-director, and has worked for well-known big entertainment chains such as TVA, Télé-Québec and RDS, among others. It was during these years that he had the chance to travel around the world. This allowed him to learn the culture of the vine according to different regions and climates and, to develop his passion for wine.

From 1994 to 1996, he also had the chance to study viti-viniculture in Mittelbergheim, in the beautiful region of Alsace, in the northeast of France.

Chateau de cartes

It was in 2006, with his spouse Anik Desjardins, that Stéphane made his dream come true by buying an orchard which he transformed into a vineyard: the Château de Cartes was founded. A few years later, in 2010, the vineyard was officially opened to the public! An enchanting site that offers wines and ciders to many visitors in the Dunham Valley.

An artist above all

Stéphane Lamarre describes himself above all as an artist, it is part of his DNA! He doesn’t hesitate to say that his business side is not his greatest strength. On the other hand, his creative side, his patience and his will to always want to improve make him an excellent winemaker.

This is reflected very well through its wines. Not afraid to innovate, he managed to develop a wide variety of products ranging from gray wine, ice wine made from black grapes to orange wine!

Creating … that’s what feeds him, it’s what fascinates him.

A team player

For the winemaker, Stéphane Lamarre, teamwork is an essential asset. He does not hesitate to share with his colleagues what he does well but also, what he has done less well to share his experience. For him, it is by helping and helping each other that we improve.

« Sharing knowledge is not only a responsibility, it is also a great pleasure! » Stéphane Lamarre

He underlines the importance of having had pioneers in viticulture in Quebec who advised him at the start of his winegrower career. And today, he wants to return the favor! He always takes the time necessary to share his knowledge and expertise in order to help a colleague.

Why « Château de Cartes »?

For Stéphane Lamarre, the production of a wine or a house of cards has many similarities: it takes a lot of skill, patience and good technique! The vine can be very fragile, but we can also do exceptional things! « Château de Cartes » is also a nod to the great castles of the world, in line with our dream that one day, Quebec will be recognized for great wines. » Stéphane Lamarre

 

Hight quality and certified ”IGP Vin du Québec” products

Today, Stéphane Lamarre is proud of his estate which has more than 23,000 vines which cover an area of ​​7 hectares. Its wines have the Protected Geographical Indication (PGI) appellation « Vin du Québec » which certifies that its wines have been produced in accordance with best viticultural practices.

Chateau de cartes

The wines which bear this seal must have been subjected to a chemical analysis carried out by a certified laboratory which confirms that the final product complies with the standards established in very strict specifications. Finally, to obtain the PGI designation, the wines passed a blind taste test. This organoleptic evaluation validates that the wine is free from defects.

Taste the products of the Château de cartes vineyard. Several are available in SAQ branches, several grocery stores (IGA and Metro), a large number of delicatessens as well as directly in the vineyard!

You can also get the wines of the Château de cartes directly from its online store – it also offers delivery in the comfort of your home!

Discover the wines of the Château de cartes vineyard

Stéphane Lamarre, vigneron

Vignoble Château de Cartes

Vigneron dans la vallée de Dunham, en Estrie, Stéphane Lamarre est propriétaire du vignoble Château de Cartes.

Au début de sa carrière, il ne se doutait pas qu’un jour il allait vivre de la vigne et du vin! Il d’abord débuté comme réalisateur-journaliste en télévision, il a entre autres travaillé pour des grandes chaînes de divertissement bien connues comme TVA, Télé-Québec et RDS. Pendant ces années, il a eu le privilège de voyager à travers le monde; cela lui a permis d’apprendre la culture de la vigne dans plusieurs régions et différents climats et ainsi, de développer sa passion pour le vin.

Également, de 1994 à 1996, il a eu la chance d’étudier la vitiviniculture à Mittelbergheim, dans la belle région de l’Alsace, au nord-est de la France.

Chateau de cartes

C’est en 2006, avec sa conjointe Anik Desjardins, que Stéphane concrétise son rêve en achetant un verger qu’il transforme en vignoble : le Château de Cartes est fondé. Quelques années plus tard, en 2010, le vignoble est officiellement ouvert au public! Un site enchanteur qui offre des vins et des cidres à de nombreux visiteurs dans la vallée de Dunham.

Un artiste avant tout

Stéphane Lamarre se décrit avant tout comme un artiste, cela fait partie de son ADN! Il n’hésite pas à dire que son sens des affaires n’est pas sa plus grande force. Par contre, son côté créatif, sa patience et sa volonté à toujours vouloir s’améliorer font de lui un excellent vigneron.

Cela se reflète très bien à travers ses vins. N’ayant pas peur d’innover, il réussit à élaborer une grande variété de produits allant du vin gris, du vin de glace fait à partir de raisins noirs en passant par le vin orange!

Créer… c’est ce qui le nourrit, c’est ce qui le passionne.

Un vigneron d’équipe!

Pour le vigneron, Stéphane Lamarre, le travail d’équipe est un atout essentiel. Il n’hésite pas à partager avec ses confrères ce qu’il fait de bien, mais aussi, ce qu’il a fait de moins bien. Pour lui, c’est en s’aidant et s’épaulant qu’on s’améliore.

« Le partage de connaissances, ce n’est pas seulement une responsabilité, c’est aussi un grand plaisir ! » Stéphane Lamarre

Il souligne l’importance d’avoir eu des pionniers de la viticulture du Québec qui l’ont conseillé au début de sa carrière de vigneron. Et aujourd’hui, il veut rendre la pareille! Il prend toujours le temps nécessaire pour de partager ses connaissances et son expertise afin d’aider un confrère.

Pourquoi « Château de Cartes »?

Pour Stéphane Lamarre, la production d’un vin ou d’un château de cartes a bien des similitudes : cela prend beaucoup de doigté, de patience et une bonne technique! La vigne peut être très fragile, mais on peut aussi y faire des choses exceptionnelles!  « Château de Cartes, c’est aussi un clin d’œil aux grands châteaux du monde, dans la lignée de notre rêve qu’un jour, le Québec soit reconnu pour de grands vins. » Stéphane Lamarre

 

Des produits hautement qualitatifs et IGP Vin du Québec

Aujourd’hui, Stéphane Lamarre est fier de son domaine qui compte plus de 23 000 pieds de vignes sur une superficie de sept hectares. Ses vins ont l’appellation Indication Géographique Protégée (IGP) « Vin du Québec » – qui certifie que ses vins ont été élaborés dans le respect des meilleures pratiques viticoles.

Chateau de cartes

Aussi, les vins qui arborent ce sceau doivent avoir été soumis à une analyse chimique effectuée par un laboratoire certifié qui confirme que produit final respecte les normes établies dans un cahier des charges bien strict. Finalement, pour obtenir l’appellation IGP, les vins ont réussi un test de goût à l’aveugle. Cette évaluation organoleptique valide que le vin est exempt de défaut.

Goûtez les produits du vignoble Château de cartes. Plusieurs sont disponibles dans les succursales de la SAQ, dans les épiceries (IGA et Métro), un grand nombre d’épiceries fines et… directement au vignoble! Vous pouvez aussi vous procurer les vins du Château de cartes directement sur la boutique en ligne – la livraison à domicile est même offerte!

Découvrez les vins du vignoble Château de cartes