Eric Gagnon – Saint-Thomas vineyard

Winemaker and co-owner, in the beautiful region of Lanaudière

Here is the journey of a hockey player who decides one day to reach another goal…. that of being a winemaker!

From one dream to another

Éric Gagnon has had a passion for hockey since his youth. His skills and persistence even led him to play hockey in Switzerland for 2 years – where he also had the chance to teach the sport. Accompanied by his wife, also a physical education teacher, he meets a winegrower and his vineyard. Another dream was being born …

As he spent his free time in the fields and in the winery, he took advantage of these years to learn the basics of the winegrower’s trade. From viticulture to wine production, he acquires knowledge and develops his experience.

Back in Saint-Thomas

Upon his return to Quebec, to continue his teaching profession, he heard from a good friend that a vineyard in his region was for sale. Having therefore developed his passion in Switzerland, Éric Gagnon and his spouse, Annie Pronovost, decided to take the leap into viticulture in 2013! They are acquiring an existing vineyard and, to get this project off to a good start, they are accompanied by a couple of investors.

The Saint-Thomas vineyard is established on former tobacco grounds

The unique terroir of the Saint-Thomas vineyard was formerly dedicated to the production of tobacco … and even that it was recognized as one of the best blond tobacco in North America! Tobacco on the vine: the sandy soil is now perfect for growing vines. It is in connection with the history of the terroir that the vineyard calls one of its wines: Terratabac – an aromatic and supple red wine to discover.

 

Following this acquisition, Éric Gagnon first put the vineyard in his image, which he called: the Saint-Thomas vineyard. Since then, wine production has continued to grow and he particularly enjoys working on the quality of his wines while developing new products.

« I don’t want people to encourage me because I sell a local product. I want them to buy because it’s good! » – Éric Gagnon

Also, Éric Gagnon is proud to mention that respecting the vineyard while minimizing the ecological footprint remains an ongoing duty.

« We use the principle of reasoned culture. So there is no systematic chemical spreading. » – Éric Gagnon

The Saint-Thomas vineyard is also an asparagus plantation!

When the vineyard was acquired in 2013, the vineyard land was joined to land that also produced asparagus. Not afraid of challenges, Éric Gagnon jumped into the adventure of asparagus production at the same time.

We invite you to discover the products of the Saint-Thomas vineyard. You can find them in several SAQs, a large number of grocery stores and directly at the vineyard shop (home delivery is also offered in several regions).

 

CLICK HERE to discover the products

Eric Gagnon – Vignoble Saint-Thomas

Vigneron et copropriétaire, dans la belle région de Lanaudière

Voici le parcours d’un joueur de hockey qui décide un jour, d’atteindre un autre but…. celui d’être vigneron!

D’un rêve à l’autre

Depuis sa jeunesse, Éric Gagnon a la passion du hockey. Ses aptitudes et sa persévérance l’ont même amené à jouer au hockey en Suisse pendant 2 ans – où il a aussi la chance d’enseigner le sport. Accompagné de sa conjointe, elle aussi enseignante en éducation physique, il fait la rencontre d’un vigneron et de son vignoble. Un autre rêve était en train de naître…

Comme il passait ses temps libres dans les champs et dans le chai, il a profité de ces années pour apprendre les bases du métier de vigneron. De la viticulture à la production du vin, il acquiert des connaissances et développe son expérience.

De retour à Saint-Thomas

À son retour au Québec, pour poursuivre son métier d’enseignant, il entend d’un bon ami qu’un vignoble de sa région est à vendre. Ayant donc, développé sa passion en Suisse, Éric Gagnon et sa conjointe, Annie Pronovost, décident de faire le saut dans la viticulture en 2013! Ils font l’acquisition d’un vignoble existant et, pour bien lancer ce projet, ils sont accompagnés d’un couple d’investisseurs.

Le vignoble Saint-Thomas est établi sur d’anciennes terres à tabac

Le terroir unique du vignoble Saint-Thomas était anciennement dédié pour la production du tabac… et même qu’il était reconnu comme l’un des meilleurs tabacs blonds en Amérique du Nord!  Du tabac à la vigne : les terres sablonneuses sont aujourd’hui parfaites pour faire pousser de la vigne. C’est en lien avec l’histoire du terroir que le vignoble nomme l’un de ses vins : le Terratabac – un vin rouge aromatique et souple à découvrir.

 

Suite à cette acquisition, Éric Gagnon met d’abord le vignoble à son image, qu’il nomme : le vignoble Saint-Thomas. Depuis, la production du vin ne cesse de croître et il apprécie particulièrement de travailler sur la qualité de ses vins tout en élaborant de nouveaux produits.

« Je ne veux pas que les gens m’encouragent parce que je vends un produit du terroir. Je veux qu’ils achètent parce que c’est bon. » – Éric Gagnon

Aussi, Éric Gagnon est fier de mentionner que le respect de la vigne tout en minimisant l’empreinte écologique demeure continuellement un devoir. 

« Nous utilisons le principe de culture raisonnée. Alors, il n’y a pas d’épandage de produits chimiques systématique. » – Éric Gagnon

Le vignoble Saint-Thomas c’est aussi une plantation d’asperges!

Lors de l’acquisition du vignoble en 2013, la terre de vignes était jointe à une terre produisant aussi des asperges. N’ayant pas peur des défis, Éric Gagnon a de la même occasion sauté dans l’aventure de la production des asperges.

On vous invite à découvrir les produits du vignoble Saint-Thomas. Vous les trouvez dans plusieurs SAQ, un grand nombre d’épiceries et directement à la boutique du vignoble (la livraison à domicile est également offerte dans plusieurs régions).

 

CLIQUEZ ICI pour découvrir les produits