Did you know that, among all the wines bottled in the world, only 5% have gone through a wooden barrel? First, because not all types of wine are suitable and then it all depends on the taste, texture and structure you want to give the wine.

Why aging in oak barrels?

First of all, you should know that aging in a wooden barrel brings tannins to the wine, which in turn give it body and structure. The tannins easily communicate bitterness and astringency to the wine (that dry feeling when you drink a wine) and, give the wine good aging potential.

WHAT ARE TANNINS?

Tannins are molecules found in the skin, seeds and stems of grapes. They are found in red wines – because during the development of these, the skin, seeds (and sometimes the stems) are left to macerate for a certain period of time with the must, thus adding tannins to the wine. wine. For white wines, the production is very different!

As the tannins are present in the wood, they are found in wines that have passed through wooden barrels. The level of tannins is thus controlled according to the time spent in the barrel, but also according to the type and age of the wooden barrel.

The tannins are odorless and tasteless … but you can feel them in the mouth! They easily impart bitterness and astringency to wine. Tannins also add body and structure to the wine. Everything is a game of balance when making the wine: the winemaker must extract enough tannins to obtain a good structure, while avoiding having too much dominance on bitterness and astringency.

At what stage is the wine placed in wooden barrels? 

Generally (because there are always exceptions!), The harvested grapes are quickly put into vats (very often in stainless steel) for the fermentation stage. And, after the yeasts have transformed the sugar in the grapes into alcohol, the liquid is left to stand for a while. This resting stage is: breeding. It is at this stage that some wines will be put into barrels.

The type of wood used

In almost all cases, oak is used. There are a multitude of varieties of oak (almost 250!), But these are only a few species that are used for aging wine.

The most popular are pedunculate oak, sod oak (both from Europe), and white oak from North America. Each one has its own characteristics and the winemaker will choose the “right” barrel according to the desired result.

CHow long does the wine spend in oak barrels?

The time spent in oak barrels can range from six months to several years, depending on the producer. Depending on the grape variety, the type of wine and above all according to the taste desired by the winemaker, he will decide the number of months that the wine must remain in barrels.

The more a barrel is used, the more it loses its properties, but again, it all depends on the winemaker’s wish for his wine.

A matter of taste!

In addition to the tannins, the oak barrel brings secondary aromas (including fresh wood) which will vary according to the type of wood, grape variety and the time spent in the barrel!

It’s all a matter of taste!

Saviez-vous que, parmi tous les vins embouteillés dans le monde, seulement 5 % ont fait un passage en barrique de bois ? D’abord, parce que ce n’est pas tous les types de vin qui s’y prêtent et cela dépend aussi du résultat souhaité par le vigneron.

Pourquoi l’élevage en fût de chêne ?

D’abord, il faut savoir que l’élevage dans une barrique de bois apporte des tanins au vin, qui eux lui apportent du corps et de la structure. Les tanins communiquent facilement l’amertume et l’astringence au vin (cette sensation d’assèchement lorsque vous buvez un vin) et, offrent au vin un bon potentiel de garde.

C’EST QUOI LES TANINS ?

Les tanins sont des molécules que l’on retrouve dans la peau, les pépins et les tiges des raisins. On les retrouve dans les vins rouges – parce que lors d’élaboration de ceux-ci, on y laisse macérer pendant une certaine une période de temps la peau, les pépins (et parfois les tiges) avec le moût, ajoutant ainsi des tanins au vin. Pour les vins blancs, la fabrication est bien différente !

Comme les tanins sont présents dans le bois, on en retrouve dans les vins qui ont fait un passage en barrique de bois. Le niveau de tanins est ainsi contrôlé selon le temps passé en barrique, mais aussi selon le type et l’âge de la barrique en bois.

Les tanins n’ont pas d’odeur et ne goûtent rien… mais vous pouvez les ressentir en bouche ! Ils communiquent facilement de l’amertume et l’astringence au vin. Les tanins apportent aussi du corps et de la structure au vin. Tout est un jeu d’équilibre lors d’élaboration du vin : le vigneron doit extraire assez de tanins pour obtenir une bonne structure, tout en évitant d’avoir une trop grande dominance sur l’amertume et l’astringence.

À quelle étape le vin est-il mis en barrique de bois 

De façon générale (parce qu’il existe toujours des exceptions !), le raisin récolté est rapidement mis en cuve (très souvent en inox) pour l’étape de la fermentation. Et, une fois que les levures ont transformé le sucre des raisins en alcool, on laisse reposer le liquide un certain temps. Cette étape de repos est : l’élevage. C’est à cette phase que certains vins vont être mis en barrique.

Le type de bois utilisé

Dans presque tous les cas, c’est le chêne qui est utilisé. Il existe une multitude de variétés de chêne (près de 250 !), mais ce ne sont que quelques espèces qui sont utilisées pour l’élevage du vin.

Les plus populaires sont le chêne pédonculé, le chêne Rouvre (tous deux proviennent de l’Europe), ainsi que le chêne blanc d’Amérique du Nord. Chacun a ses particularités et le vigneron choisira le « bon » tonneau selon le résultat souhaité.

Combien de temps le vin passe-t-il en fût de chêne ?

Le temps passé en fût de chêne peut aller de six mois à plusieurs années, selon le producteur. Selon le cépage, le type de vin et surtout selon le goût souhaité par le vigneron, celui-ci décidera du nombre de mois que le vin doit demeurer en barrique.

Plus une barrique est utilisée, plus elle perd de ses propriétés, mais encore une fois, tout dépend du souhait du vigneron pour son vin.

Une question de goût !

En plus des tanins, la barrique de chêne apporte des arômes secondaires (comme bois frais ou la vanille) qui vont varier selon le type de bois, de cépage et le temps passé en barrique! Tout est une question de goût!

Santé !