Charles-Henri De Coussergues

Co-owner of Vignoble de l’Orpailleur | Dunham

The beginning

In the early 1980s, the French wine industry experienced some difficulties. This is what has motivated many winemakers, young and old, who want to continue their passion for wine to migrate to other continents.

Many people have decided to settle in the United States, but very few winegrowers choose Quebec! The absence of vineyards in Quebec and above all, the cold of our winters seems to discourage producers rather used to much milder temperatures.

 

Charles-Henri De Coussergues

Fortunately, a son of a French winemaker, Hervé Durand is determined to establish a vineyard on our beautiful province. He then undertook a soil study taking into account the number of days between the last spring frost and the first fall frost. He made his choice on land in Dunham, in the Eastern Townships. Hervé Durand embarked on this ambitious project for the time with Pierre Rodrigue, Frank Furtado and, … Charles-Henri de Coussergues. The latter, also the son of a winegrower from the south of France, thought he would just come and help his friend to start the vineyard. The first vines were planted in 1982 and the very first bottle of L’Orpailleur wine was sold in 1985.

It was just the beginning!

 

Creativity and perseverance

The first years require great creativity! We must redouble our efforts to adapt the work tools to the needs of the structure. In Quebec, the wine industry was in its infancy and it was more difficult to find the necessary machinery and work tools. But above all, it took a lot of creativity to protect the vines from the cold winter weather. They then found a solution to maintain their vines during the winter: cover them with soil, which provides good protection (protection method still used in some vineyards). It was only years later that geotextile fabrics were developed. Creating a quality wine required a lot of motivation and persistence!

After having produced their first wine in 1985, it was necessary to sell it and find ways to make the vineyard profitable. But how? Note that in 1985, Quebec wines were not yet sold to the SAQ! Fortunately, Charles-Henri had the idea of opening the vineyard to the general public. The goal was of course to sell bottles of wine, but Charles-Henri also had another idea in mind: he wanted to inform and educate the population about Quebec wines. An industry leader was born!

Charles-Henri had no idea that his mission would define him throughout his career and above all, that his teaching would have such important and exceptional spinoffs for our beautiful province.

 

Its contribution to the development of the industry

Anyone familiar with the world of Quebec wine recognizes the goodness and the great generosity of this man. Her benevolence and sense of sharing have enabled many Quebec winemakers to grow and develop. He is what you could call the “godfather” of Quebec winegrowers!

Charles-Henri de Coussergues is at the heart of many major projects that advance the wine sector in Quebec. So often involved in viticulture projects, he always takes industry further. His work approach is also highly appreciated, he facilitates collaboration, promotes team spirit and above all, makes sure to always consider and respect people.

Charles-Henri was a founding member of the Association des Vignerons du Québec (renamed the Conseil des vins du Québec in 2018), of which he assumed the presidency from 2008 to 2016 and where he still sits actively by being present on the council of ‘administration. He is also Vice-President of the Quebec Appellation Wine Council (CVAQ); which manages and supervises IGP Vin du Québec and Vin de glace appellation wines. He is also President of the Association of Agrotourism and Gourmet Tourism, which promotes the development and improvement of the quality of the tourist offer.

 

Did you know that it was Gilles Vigneault, the Quebec author, composer and performer, who came up with the name of the L’Orpailleur vineyard?

In 1982, the founders had to find a name. They wanted a name that would represent them and that would allow them to anchor themselves in the region. It was one of the founders, Frank Furtado close to Gilles Vigneault, who, during an evening told him about his project, explaining that they were looking for a name for the vineyard. A few months later, with surprise, Gilles Vigneault called his friend back and suggested the name « l’Orpailleur ». 

In the eastern townships, there were gold miners, men looking for gold flakes in the bottom of rivers. There were a lot of links to make between the artisanal gold miners and our 4 winemakers… whose patience! He wrote a poem:

« The Gold Miner is the one who washes the gold alluvium to extract, in time, science and patience, the gold flakes found there. This is how, for the first time in Quebec, winegrowers put science, patience and the time it took to extract from Quebec soil a dry wine, unique in all respects, from a grape variety here planted and harvested, and its grapes vinified in the vineyard in the best tradition. »

Gilles Vigneault, 1982

En savoir plus sur les vins du vignoble de l’Orpailleur

Charles-Henri De Coussergues

Copropriétaire du Vignoble de l’Orpailleur | Dunham

Le commencement

Au début des années 80, l’industrie vitivinicole française a connu quelques difficultés. C’est ce qui a poussé plusieurs vignerons, jeunes et moins jeunes, désireux de poursuivre leur passion du vin à migrer vers d’autres continents.

Nombreux sont ceux qui ont décidé de s’établir aux États-Unis mais, très peu de vignerons choisissent le Québec! L’absence de vignobles au Québec et surtout, le froid de nos hivers semble décourager les producteurs plutôt habitués à des températures beaucoup plus clémentes.

 

Charles-Henri De Coussergues

Heureusement, un fils de vigneron français, Hervé Durand est déterminé à implanter un vignoble sur les terres de notre belle province. Il entreprit alors une étude des sols en prenant en compte le nombre de jours entre le dernier gel printanier et le premier gel automnal. Il arrêta son choix sur une terre à Dunham, en Estrie. Hervé Durand s’est lancé dans ce projet bien ambitieux pour l’époque avec Pierre Rodrigue, Frank Furtado et, … Charles-Henri de Coussergues. Ce dernier, aussi fils de vigneron du sud de la France, pensait qu’il viendrait simplement aider son ami à lancer le vignoble. Les premières vignes sont plantées en 1982 et la toute première bouteille vin de L’Orpailleur est vendue en 1985.

Ce n’était que le début!

 

Créativité et persévérance

Les premières années exigent une grande créativité! Il faut redoubler d’efforts pour adapter les outils de travail aux besoins de l’ouvrage. Au Québec, l’industrie de la viticulture en était à ses balbutiements et il était plus difficile de dénicher la machinerie et les instruments de travail nécessaires. Mais surtout, il fallait beaucoup de créativité pour protéger les vignes des grands froids hivernaux. Ils ont alors trouvé une solution pour maintenir leurs vignes pendant l’hiver : les recouvrir de terre, ce qui assure une bonne protection (méthode de protection encore utilisée chez certains vignobles). Ce n’est que des années plus tard que les toiles géotextiles seront développées. Créer un vin de qualité demandait alors beaucoup de motivation et de persévérance!

Après avoir produit leur premier vin en 1985, il fallait le vendre et trouver des moyens pour rentabiliser le vignoble. Mais comment? Sachez qu’en 1985, les vins québécois n’étaient pas encore vendus à la SAQ! Heureusement, Charles-Henri a eu l’idée d’ouvrir le vignoble au grand public. L’objectif était bien sûr de vendre les bouteilles de vin mais Charles-Henri avait aussi une autre idée en tête : il voulait informer et éduquer la population sur les vins du Québec. Un leader de l’industrie était né.

Charles-Henri ne se doutait pas que sa mission allait le définir tout au long de sa carrière et surtout, que son enseignement allait avoir des retombées si importantes et exceptionnelles pour notre belle province.

 

Sa contribution à l’essor de l’industrie

Toute personne côtoyant l’univers du vin québécois reconnaît la bonté et la grande générosité de cet homme. Sa bienveillance et son sens du partage ont permis à de très nombreux vignerons du Québec de grandir et de se développer. Il est ce qu’on pourrait appeler le « parrain » des vignerons du Québec!

Charles-Henri de Coussergues est au cœur de nombreux projets majeurs qui font avancer le secteur des vins du Québec. Si souvent impliqué dans les projets de la viticulture, il amène toujours plus loin l’industrie. Son approche de travail est aussi très appréciée, il facilite la collaboration, favorise l’esprit d’équipe et avant tout, s’assure de toujours considérer et respecter l’humain.

Charles-Henri a été membre fondateur de l’Association des Vignerons du Québec (renommé le Conseil des vins du Québec en 2018), dont il a assumé la présidence de 2008 à 2016 et où il siège toujours activement en étant présent sur le conseil d’administration. Il est aussi Vice-président du Conseil des vins d’appellations du Québec (CVAQ); qui gère et encadre les vins d’appellation IGP Vin du Québec et Vin de glace. Il est également Président de l’Association de l’Agrotourisme et du Tourisme Gourmand, qui favorise le développement et l’amélioration de la qualité de l’offre touristique.

 

Saviez-vous que c’est Gilles Vigneault, l’auteur, compositeur et interprète québécois, qui a trouvé le nom du vignoble L’Orpailleur?

En 1982, les fondateurs devaient trouver un nom. Ils voulaient un nom qui allait les représenter et qui leur permettrait de s’ancrer dans le terroir. C’est l’un des fondateurs, Frank Furtado proche de Gilles Vigneault, qui, lors d’une soirée lui raconta son projet, lui expliquant qu’ils cherchaient un nom pour le vignoble. Quelques mois après, avec surprise, Gilles Vigneault rappela son ami et lui proposa le nom « l’Orpailleur ». 

Dans les cantons de l’est, il y eut des orpailleurs, des hommes qui cherchaient des paillettes d’or dans le fond des rivières. Il y avait beaucoup de liens à faire entre les orpailleurs et nos 4 vignerons… dont la patience! Il écrit un poème :

« L’Orpailleur, c’est celui qui lave les alluvions aurifères pour en extraire, par temps, science et patience, les paillettes d’or qui s’y trouvent. C’est ainsi que pour la première fois au Québec, des viticulteurs ont mis science, patience et le temps qu’il fallait pour extraire de la terre québécoise un vin sec, unique en tous points, depuis un cépage ici planté et récolté, et son raisin vinifié au vignoble dans la meilleure tradition. »

Gilles Vigneault, 1982

En savoir plus sur les vins du vignoble de l’Orpailleur