Préambule

After 25 years of commercial viticulture, the Québec Winegrowers Association (QWA) decided in the spring of 2008 to adopt a quality-control program—a move designed to protect the growing young industry and ensure its successful future.

In the early 1980s, and for 30 more years, wine makers across the province proved beyond a doubt that grapevines could take root in our Québec soil. Wine making is here to stay, and is now part of our agricultural tradition and rural landscape. After all these years, wine makers today possess precious knowledge—gleaned in large part from the expertise acquired and developed over the years.

Some 30 years ago, the QWA cleared the way for wine making in Québec, and today we reap the fruits of their determination, conviction and passion. Québec wines distinguish themselves in provincial, national and international competitions—putting Québec on the global winemaking map.

In the spring of 2008, a group of winemakers came together to create and produce the perfect tool to recognize the extensive expertise of our young industry. A year later, the Québec Certified Wines label was born. This certification program is available to all wineries across Québec, whether or not they are members of the QWA.

What exactly is this Certification?

The Québec Certified Wines label is the result of a process undertaken by the QWA to recognize the quality of our wines. It was created to meet the expectations of both consumers and people who work in the industry. The end result is a logo that doesn’t simply mimic those used in other winemaking regions, but rather reflects our unique reality. Specifications were created in collaboration with experts in order to ensure the process ran smoothly every step of the way.

Objectives

Decide the strict quality criteria for certified products, based on our extensive expertise

Guarantee the wine’s origins (traceability)

Recognize the uniqueness of our viticulture

The program’s key characteristics


Sustainable viticulture

Sustainable viticulture is the application of sustainable-development standards to viticulture. It’s about ensuring that the production of grapes respects an ecological, economic and social balance—which ensures sustainability during production (durability).

Certification includes an integrated advocacy section (agronomic follow-up), the use of eco-responsible inputs and ongoing training for winemakers. Respecting winemaking norms helps produce quality grapes and adds value to our agricultural land.

Winemaking and aging

Ensuring the grape source and quality of inputs, as well as preserving its intrinsic characteristics.

Late-vintage, winter and ice wines must also meet strict requirements when it comes to harvesting and the exclusively natural origins of their sugar sources.

Wine bottling

Ensure the cleanliness, safety, traceability, and quality of all inputs and preserve the wine’s intrinsic characteristics.

Perform chemical analyses to ensure the final product meets Canadian food standards.

Perform a sensory evaluation in order to ensure the wine respects the defined standards of quality.

Control plan

To guarantee the certification program’s neutrality, the control of standards compliance is undertaken by an external certification organization (accredited in compliance with the ISO 65 guide). The QWA has an agreement with Concert, a subsidiary of Écocert (organic culture) to ensure this control.

Rigorous control measures enable us to monitor every step of the viniculture process, from winemaking to bottling our Québec Certified Wines. Ongoing traceability ensures we can identify and meticulously monitor our wines.

In order to ensure the control plan and specifications function efficiently, the certification of Québec wines is accredited by the Québec government’s Conseil des Appellations Réservées et des Termes Valorisants (CARTV).

By introducing certification for Québec wines, the QWA has become a leader in respecting the environment as well as the authenticity and quality of our wines. Learn more

Préambule

Après 25 ans de viticulture commerciale, l’Association des vignerons du Québec (AVQ), voyant sa jeune industrie croître et se diriger vers un avenir certain et prometteur décide, au printemps 2008, de se doter d’un programme de contrôle de qualité.

Dès le début des années 1980, et durant presque trois décennies, les vignerons ont su prouver que la vigne était belle et bien enracinée dans notre terroir québécois. Elle est là pour rester, faisant maintenant partie de notre réalité agricole et de nos paysages ruraux. Après toutes ces années, les vignerons possèdent aujourd’hui de précieux acquis, notamment en matière de savoir-faire obtenu et développé au fil du temps.

S’il y a 30 ans l’AVQ défrichait, aujourd’hui elle récolte les fruits de la détermination, de la conviction et de la passion. Les vins du Québec se démarquent lors de concours provinciaux, nationaux et internationaux mettant ainsi le Québec sur la carte viticole mondiale.

Au printemps 2008, plusieurs vignerons formaient un groupe de travail ayant pour mission de trouver et de réaliser l’outil idéal afin de faire reconnaître le savoir-faire de cette jeune industrie. Un an plus tard, le programme de certification des vins du Québec prenait son envol. Le programme de Certification est offert à tous les vignobles du Québec, membres ou non membres de l'AVQ.

Qu'est-ce que la Certification ?

La dénomination « Vin du Québec certifié» est le fruit d’une démarche de qualité entreprise par l’AVQ, élaborée afin de satisfaire aux attentes des consommateurs et des professionnels du milieu. Il s’agit d’une démarche de qualité associée à un logo spécifique. Ne voulant nullement copier d’autres régions viticoles, mais plutôt monter un cadre de travail bien adapté à leurs réalités, le cahier des charges a été produit en collaboration avec une firme experte en la matière afin de s’assurer du bien-fondé de chaque étape du processus.

Objectifs

Déterminer des critères de qualité élevés pour les produits certifiés, fondés sur un savoir-faire unique.

Garantir l'origine des vins (la traçabilité).

Faire reconnaître la spécificité de notre viticulture.

Principales caractéristiques du programme


Viticulture durable

La viticulture durable est l’application des principes de développement durable à la viticulture. Il s’agit d’assurer la production de raisins dans l'équilible entre les aspects écologiques, économiques et sociaux, qui ensemble assurent la durabilité dans le temps (pérennité) de cette production.

Ainsi, la certification est munie d'un volet de lutte intégrée (suivi agronomique), utilisation d'intrants les plus écoresponsables et de formation continue du viticulteur. Le respect des normes viticoles contribue à la production de raisins de qualité et à la mise en valeur du territoire agricole.

Vinification et élevage

S’assurer de l’origine du raisin et de la qualité des intrants, ainsi que de la préservation des caractéristiques intrinsèques.

En plus de ces exigences, le vin de vendange tardive, le vin de vendange d’hiver et le vin de glace satisfont à des exigences précises concernant les conditions de vendange et à l’origine exclusivement naturelle des sucres.

Embouteillage du vin

Veiller à la salubrité, à l’innocuité, à la traçabilité, à la qualité des intrants et à la préservation des caractéristiques intrinsèques du vin.

Effectuer des analyses chimiques afin de s’assurer que le produit fini respecte les normes canadiennes sur l’alimentation.

Procéder à une évaluation organoleptique afin de s’assurer que le vin respecte un standard défini de qualité.

Plan de contrôle

Pour garantir l’impartialité du programme de certification, le contrôle du respect des normes a été confié à un organisme de certification externe (accrédité en conformité avec le guide ISO 65). L’AVQ a conclu une entente avec la firme « Concert » filiale d’Écocert (culture biologique) pour assurer ce contrôle.

Des mesures de contrôle rigoureuses permettent d’exercer un suivi à chaque étape de la viticulture, de la vinification et de la mise en bouteille des « Vin du Québec Certifié». Une traçabilité continue assure l’identification et le suivi rigoureux des vins.

Afin d’assurer une parfaite efficacité du plan de contrôle et du cahier des charges, la certification des vins du Québec est accréditée auprès du Conseil des Appellations Réservées et des Termes Valorisants (CARTV) du gouvernement du Québec.

En initiant la certification des vins du Québec, l’AVQ se positionne en matière de respect environnemental, d’authenticité et de qualité. Pour en savoir plus